EMSNOW Leaderboard Ads

Indium Corporation to Host PCB and Component Defects Webinar

Indium Corporation will host an InSIDER Series webinar on causes and solutions of PCB and component warpage defects, presented by industry consultant Bob Willis. There will be two sessions on Wednesday, Sept. 9—5:30 a.m. Eastern Time (10:30 a.m. London Time, 5:30 p.m. Malaysia Time) and Noon Eastern Time (5 p.m. London Time, Midnight Malaysia Time).

Heating PCBs for soldering can potentially lead to substrate and component warpage, causing parts to expand and contract, and leading to common soldering defects such as HIP/HOP and non-wet opens. High-temperature, lead-free soldering has exacerbated these problems. To help solve these issues, interest in low-temperature solders for reflow and selective soldering has grown. However, not all companies have the ability to change the alloys they use. Willis will provide practical insights for common—and not so common—soldering and assembly problems relating to warpage. Some of the solutions, as well as “shop floor tricks,” will also be illustrated.

Subjects covered in this webinar will include:

  • PCB substrate warpage
  • Component package warp
  • Connector lifting
  • QFP pin opens
  • Process simulation and inspection methods
  • BGA solder shorts and opens
  • Missing pins

Indium Corporation’s InSIDER Series is a free program designed to deliver expert technical content, share industry knowledge, and promote professional growth using a virtual platform. Current and future webinars can be found at www.indium.com/webinar.

Willis is an England-based trainer and consultant with more than 30 years of experience working with companies implementing surface mount technology (SMT) and area array technology, as well as most areas of electronics manufacturing.

To register for Willis’ webinar, visit www.indium.com/webinar. The webinar link will be shared with registrants the day of the event. Registrants must use a company email account to avoid Indium Corporation’s spam filters. This is a first-come, first-served event.

Indium Corporation is a premier materials refiner, smelter, manufacturer, and supplier to the global electronics, semiconductor, thin-film, and thermal management markets. Products include solders and fluxes; brazes; thermal interface materials; sputtering targets; indium, gallium, germanium, and tin metals and inorganic compounds; and NanoFoil®. Founded in 1934, the company has global technical support and factories located in China, India, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea, the United Kingdom, and the USA.

 

TrustedParts x A
Mycronic Jet printer EMS Now x
microboard
whitehorsefinal
SUBSCRIBE Ad
KY PreReflow x EMSNOW
IDENTCO EMS AD
New AD Greenchips × px