SMTA “Members of Distinction” Award Winners Announced

Minneapolis, MN – During the 2017 Annual Meeting at SMTA International, the SMTA honored members who have shown exceptional service to the association and the electronics assembly industry. Nominations are now accepted for the 2018 awards program.

The FOUNDER’S AWARD honoring members who have made exceptional contributions to the industry as well as support and service to the SMTA, was presented to Frances Stewart, UP Media Group. SMTA and the electronics industry have benefited immensely from Frances’s ardent support and leadership over the years. Her contributions of leadership as a chapter officer, committee member, and as a past member of the Board of Directors have truly set the standard for SMTA.

The MEMBER OF TECHNICAL DISTINCTION AWARD recognizes individuals who have made significant and continuing technical contributions to the SMTA. This year the Awards Committee selected Paul Vianco, Ph.D., Sandia National Laboratories as the recipient of this prestigious award. Paul’s commitment to quality and sound technical information exchange is unparalleled, evidenced by his participation in more than 29 SMTA events, including paper presentations, course instruction, or serving as a panelist and chairing/co-chairing sessions. Paul has also been a reviewer for the Journal of SMT for many years.

The EXCELLENCE IN LEADERSHIP AWARD honors SMTA members who stand out as strong leaders in the Association. The 2017 recipient of this award is Luis Sastoque, Team Manufacturing. Luis has been 100% dedicated to the success of the SMTA. There are few leaders who have served their chapter as an officer for so many years. Much of the Carolinas Chapter’s success can be credited to Luis’s hard work. SMTA has always been able to depend on him to get the job done.

The EXCELLENCE IN INTERNATIONAL LEADERSHIP AWARD is presented to members who have provided outstanding support and leadership to the SMTA’s international members, chapters, or educational programs. The 2017 recipient of this award is Bev Christian, Ph.D., HDPUG. Over the years Bev has accomplished much in the SMTA organization. He has been an integral part of the success of the ICSR (now ICEET) conference which draws attendees from well beyond Toronto, further demonstrating our international reach. Much of this success can be credited to Bev’s hard work.

The SMTA+ CORPORATE PARTNERSHIP AWARD was presented to Plexus Corporation. As a Global Member of SMTA, Plexus has shown support at every level of the association from supporting chapter and board leadership positions to technical contributions for our conferences, committees, and most importantly their willingness to share technical knowledge with others in our industry. They embody our mission by encouraging employees to become members, attend meetings, and share their knowledge. Plexus is most deserving of this honor.

SMTA has recognized exceptional individual and corporate members for their immeasurable contributions to the Association since 1994. Next year’s winners will be recognized at the Annual Meeting during the 2018 SMTA International Conference in Rosemont, Illinois.

View details at the website: