x Brown

EV Experts to Share Technical Insights in Automotive Electronics Webinar

As part of its electric vehicle (EV) focused series of webinars, Driving e-Mobility: Rel-ion™ Technical Webinars, Indium Corporation’s EV experts are excited to announce the third webinar in this series.

 

The third session in the Driving e-Mobility:
Rel-ion™ Technical Webinar series is scheduled for June 28 with two opportunities to participate: the first at 8:30 a.m. Germany/12 p.m. India/2:30 p.m. China and Malaysia, and the second at 10 a.m. San Francisco/1 p.m. New York/6 p.m. London/7 p.m. Germany. This webinar, titled Increased Reliability for Higher Mission Profiles in Automotive Electronics, will feature Technical Manager for Europe, Africa, and the Middle East Karthik Vijay.

 

Enhanced automotive electrification has resulted in increased mission profiles (more cycles, higher service temperatures) for PCB assemblies as well as power modules (for inverters). The solder joints experience greater thermo-mechanical loads and there will be instances where traditional SAC solder alloys may not be able to fulfill more stringent product lifetime validation requirements. Therefore, the choice of solder materials becomes more critical as they have to check multiple design requirements – (a) increased hardness to compensate for creep under stress with increased temperatures; (b) balancing hardness with the right amount of ductility so as to not transmit the stress elsewhere; (c) ensuring that the alternate solder alloy can be processed in the same window used for SAC solders.

 

The Driving e-Mobility: Rel-ion™ Technical Webinars series features global industry technical experts in advanced materials and the automotive market with all sessions moderated by Brian O’Leary, Indium Corporation’s global head of e-Mobility and infrastructure. This series of webinars is intended specifically for those involved in the field of e-Mobility, whether new to the industry or with several years of experience as the EV industry undergoes rapid growth and evolution.

 

Registration for this webinar—as well as the rest in this series—is open and can be completed at indium.com/corporate/media-center/webinars/rel-ion.php. If you are interested in a session specifically tailored to your company’s needs, please contact O’Leary at boleary@indium.com.

 

Vijay is responsible for technology programs and technical support for customers in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East. Previously, he was based in San Jose, California and was responsible for applications support for customers on the North American West Coast. His expertise is in automotive, industrial, and RF applications involving PCBA and power electronics with a focus on the use of different material sets, including solder preforms, solder paste, thermal interface materials, and semiconductor-grade electronics materials.

 

He joined Indium Corporation in 2003 and has more than 20 years of experience in electronics assembly. Vijay has a master’s degree in industrial engineering with a specialization in electronics packaging and manufacturing from the State University of New York, Binghamton. He is a Certified SMT Process Engineer and earned his Six Sigma Green Belt certification from Dartmouth College’s Thayer School of Engineering. Vijay is active in several industry organizations, including IMAPS and SMTA, and has presented at several industry forums and conferences nationally and internationally.

 

O’Leary is responsible for promoting Indium Corporation’s full range of products and services for e-Mobility, which includes electric cars, trucks, and charging stations. He has more than 20 years of experience in sales, marketing, and channel management in the electronics industry.

 

Upcoming sessions in the Driving e-Mobility: Rel-ion™ Technical Webinar series are:

  • Sept. 21: Design Considerations for Board Layout & Material Selection co-presented by Associate Director for Global Technical Service & Application Engineering Jonas Sjoberg and Applications Engineer – Design for Excellence Specialist Ângelo Marques
  • Oct. 12: Best Practices for SMT Assembly & Root Cause Analysis presented by Principal Engineer, Global Accounts Technical Manager David Sbiroli
KY EMSNOW x

About The Author

pH Neutral x
x MDM South
EMS now xpx Feb ICAPE Group Plan de travail
SUBSCRIBE Ad
KY EMSNOW x
IDENTCO EMS AD
x SEMICON SEA