ECIA Foundation Announces E-Learning Program for the Electronics Industry

Atlanta – The ECIA Foundation is pleased to announce a new e-learning curriculum scheduled to launch with two modules in August, and a total of five ready for use by the end of 2021.

For the past several years the ECIA Foundation, led by Foundation Chair Jim Kaplan, has envisioned the establishment of basic training for new employees to the electronics industry. Earlier in the year a committee was formed to develop the courses. ECIA Service Partner Lectrix will develop the platform which will be hosted by ECIA and available to both members as a member benefit and non-members for a fee. The initial five modules will cover: Industry Overview; Terms & Definitions; Components; Taking a Product to Market and The Industry Landscape (covering ancillary companies such as EMS, Design, etc.).

“Training and inspiring the next generation of the electronics industry is a core mission of the ECIA Foundation,” explained Debbie Conyers, ECIA Foundation Executive Director. “This initiative has been in the works for several years, and I am very proud to see it brought it to life. The incredible response from many of our ECIA members – including substantial financial support from donors – is testament to how valuable this will be.”

“The industry is facing a skilled worker crisis as leaders retire and the electronics industry expands into new markets,” continued Jim Kaplan. “We just don’t have enough smart young people who see the electronic components industry as a vibrant and exciting career. Having best-in-class training will help companies get new hires off and running.”

The members of the committee include: Foundation Board members Jim Kaplan, Cornell-Dubilier Electronics; Bruce Kellar, Sager Electronics and Diane Laegeler, Digi International along with Jennifer Townsend and Todd Martin, Carlton-Bates Company; Robert Derringer, Crouzet; Laura Rude, Digi-Key Electronics; Mark Pierce, ebm-papst; Bill Bradford, Flip Electronics; Christine Bell, JF Kilfoil; Allison Turner, Laird Thermal Systems; Dawn Manhart, Littelfuse; Caroline Wells, Omron; Aubrie Nooney, PEI-Genesis; Rochelle HarrisJeremy Lane and Kristyn Nicholson, TTI, Inc. and Julie Fajardo, TDK-Lambda.

About The Author