CIRCUITS ASSEMBLY Announces 2019 Service Excellence Award Winners

SAN DIEGO – CIRCUITS ASSEMBLY announced the winners of its 2019 Service Excellence Awards (SEAs) for electronics manufacturing services (EMS) providers and electronics assembly equipment, materials and software suppliers. CIRCUITS ASSEMBLY recognized companies that received the highest customer service ratings, as judged by their own customers, during a ceremony at IPC Apex Expo in San Diego.

“This is the only recognition program in the industry where participants are judged solely by their own customers,” said CIRCUITS ASSEMBLY editor in chief Mike Buetow, in presenting the awards. “This was the first year we added representatives and distributors to the mix.”

CIRCUITS ASSEMBLY also announced proceeds from the entry fees would fund $4,000 in donations to various student scholarships.

In the EMS category, the overall winners were Creation Technologies (sales over $500 million), Mack Technologies (sales of $101 million to $500 million), Qualitel (sales of $20 million to $100 million), and Trilogy Circuits (sales under $20 million).

The EMS companies with the highest scores in each of five individual service categories also received awards. (Overall winners were excluded from winning individual categories.) In the small-company category, XLR8 Services won for dependability/timely delivery, technology, and tied Naprotek and Silicon Forest Electronics for responsiveness. Naprotek took home top honors for manufacturing quality, and Spectrum Assembly won for value.

For firms with revenue between $20 million and $100 million, Applied Technical Services took home all five individual category awards.

For EMS companies with revenue between $101 million and $500 million, Firstronic won for dependability/timely delivery, responsiveness, and value, and tied Vexos for technology. Vexos also took home first prize for manufacturing quality.

For EMS firms with revenue over $500 million, Kimball Electronics received accolades in all five categories.

Electronics assembly supplier award winners were Europlacer Americas for pick-and-place; Speedprint Technology for screen printing; Kyzen for cleaning/processing materials; MIRTEC for test and inspection; Nordson Asymtek for dispensing; Heller Industries for soldering equipment; Aegis Industrial Software for automation/manufacturing software; Count On Tools for automation/handling equipment; Data I/O for device programming equipment; ECD for component storage systems; Datest for test laboratories; and FHP for reps or agents and/or distributors.

Customers of SEA participants rated each company on a scale of 1 (poor) to 7 (best in class) in five service categories.

A portion of the entry fees were donated to a pair of student scholarship funds in the name of CIRCUITS ASSEMBLY. A donation of $2000 was made on the participants’ behalf to the Surface Mount Technology Association’s Charles Hutchins Educational Grant. And $2000 was donated to the IPC Education Foundation.

“The $4000 donation this year brings our running total to over $100,000 in contributions since the inception of the SEA program,” Buetow said. “We see this as a befitting way to honor the memory of Ron Daniels, our former editor and publisher, in whose name the donations are made.”

This is the 27th year CIRCUITS ASSEMBLY has sponsored the awards program.